PICPA - Outstanding Accounting Educator Award

Outstanding Accounting Educator Award

The Outstanding Accounting Educator Program is designed to salute full-time Pennsylvania college and university accounting educators who have distinguished themselves in the classroom setting and are actively involved in the accounting profession. Educators who are noted for their teaching abilities, but are now predominantly involved in administration or research, are also eligible for the award. Retired faculty members are also eligible.


Eligibility Requirements

  • Full-time accounting educator at a Pennsylvania college or university or an educator who is noted for their teaching abilities but are now predominately involved in administration or research. 
  • Distinguished for excellence in classroom teaching as evidenced through instructional innovations, student and peer evaluations and active engagement in practical learning opportunities for students. 
  • Demonstrated contributions to the accounting profession by active involvement in professional activities, such as, participation in professional accounting organizations.

Who Can Nominate

  • PICPA members (active, associate, accounting affiliate, and student affiliate members) 
  • College or university faculty members 
  • Department chairs 
  • Academic deans

For further information about the Outstanding Educator Award, e-mail the Careers in Accounting Team at schools@picpa.org or call (888) 272-2001. 

Nomination Form

Please fill out the following information:

Nominee Information

Nominator Information

Reasons for Nomination

Please provide answers as a separate document with supporting material.

  1. Why did you nominate this professor for the Outstanding Educator Award?
  2. How does this professor stand out among other professors?
  3. Name some of the nominee’s distinguished achievements (if known).
  4. Describe the nominee’s characteristics that have set a positive example for his/her students.
  5. Describe how you feel the nominee proved excellence in classroom teaching as evidence through instructional innovations, the ability to motivate students and active engagement in practical learning opportunities for students.
  6. Other comments that you feel the judges should know about the nominee.

can't read this?
Enter the code shown:

Past Recipients 

2013 Ann D. Servey, CPA
Cabrini College
2012 Rose Marie Bukics, CPA
Lafayette College
2011 Thomas m. Brinker, Jr., CPA
Arcadia University
2010 Mark W. Dawson, CPA
LaRoche College
2008 Elizabeth M. Kolar, CPA
Delaware Valley College
2007 Daniel Mahoney, Ph.D.
University of Scranton
2006 Priscilla Austin, CPA
Duquesne University
2005 Clyde J. Galbraith, CPA
West Chester University
2004 Charles H. Smith, CPA, PhD 
Penn State University
2003 Cynthia Chisarick, CPA 
Wilkes University
2002 Robert J. DePasquale, CPA, Ph.D., CMA
Saint Vincent College
2001 Raymond R. Poteau, CPA 
Philadelphia University
2000 Joseph M. Ragan, CPA  
St. Joseph's University
1999 Joseph M. Hargadon, CPA, Ph.D., CMA 
Widener University
1998 Jamie T. Doran, CPA 
Muhlenberg College
1997 Brian W. Carpenter, Ph.D., CMA 
University of Scranton
1996 George E. Letcher Jr. 
University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown
1995 Frank C. Evans 
Penn State University - Shenango Campus
1994 Robert W. Koehler 
Penn State University
1993 Janet E. Mercincavage 
King's College
1992 Frank C. Lordi 
Widener University
1991 Philip J. Kennedy 
Slippery Rock University
1990 Daniel J. O'Mara 
Villanova University